Zayed Sustainability Prize 2022 – Global High Schools

Date/Deadline: 06 May, 2021

The Zayed Sustainability Prize, an evolution of the Zayed Future Energy Prize, is the UAE’s pioneering global award in sustainability and a tribute to the legacy of the late founding father of the UAE, Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan.

Established in 2008, this annual award recognises and rewards the achievements of those who are driving impactful, innovative and inspiring sustainability solutions across five distinct categories: Health, Food, Energy, Water and Global High Schools.

For the empowerment of the current and future generations.

The Global High Schools category recognises high schools or secondary schools, from six global geographic regions that propose innovative, impactful and inspirational sustainability projects in the areas of health, food, energy and/or water. The proposed project could be in one area (e.g. water) or a combination of areas (e.g. energy, water, food, and health).

The Prize is intended to encourage students to develop and implement their sustainability ideas and is not aimed at administrative projects or educational reforms at the school.

The award in this category is not given for past achievements but will enable students from winning high schools to implement sustainability projects in their own schools. These student-led projects must demonstrate innovative approaches to address sustainability challenges, and inspire students to take active roles in sustainable development.

The application must be submitted by the students and supported by the school management. The projects must:

– demonstrate how they meet the three criteria: impact, innovation, inspiration; as explained in the Evaluation Criteria section of this page.
– be able to be implemented and operational within one to two years.
– benefit the school community and/or their local/regional community for several years.

In each of the following six global regions, one school will win up to US$ 100,000:

– The Americas.
– Sub-Saharan Africa.
– Middle East & North Africa.
– Europe & Central Asia.
– South Asia.
– East Asia & Pacific.


(divided amongst 6 Schools, awarding each up to US$100,000)

Join as a member to get unlimited access


Already a Member? Log in

Subscribe to Social Change Central

No spam. It's a promise.

Password reset link will be sent to your email

Join as a member to get unlimited access