Date/Deadline: 31 May, 2022

The Global Pluralism Award (“the Award”) celebrates and supports efforts and achievements that advance pluralism. The Award is given every two years to individuals, organisations, government bodies and private sector actors, from any country, that demonstrate exceptional and sustained achievement in building more inclusive societies in which human diversity is protected and valued.

The Award is a program of the Global Centre for Pluralism (“the Centre”). Founded in Ottawa, Canada by His Highness the Aga Khan in partnership with the Government of Canada, the Centre is an independent, not-for-profit organisation that serves as a global platform for comparative analysis, education and dialogue about the choices and actions that advance and sustain pluralism.

2023 Award

Three Award winners will share a total prize pool of CAD $150,000. The monetary prize will be equally divided among the three Award winners (CAD $50,000 each).

In late 2023, each of the three Award winners and up to seven honourable mention recipients, or their delegates, will be invited to the Global Pluralism Award ceremony.

In addition to the Financial Award, the Centre will work with Award winners to develop a program of in-kind support and engagement in 2024. This may include communications support, opportunities to engage in activities of the Centre and other organisations, residency/internships at the Centre, inclusion in the Centre’s pluralism education and training initiatives, etc.

Eligibility Criteria
Candidates from any country are eligible, including:
– Individuals (e.g. artists, journalists, academics, policy-makers, filmmakers, etc.);
– Civil society organisations (e.g., professional associations, faith-based organisations, labour unions, nonprofit research or educational institutions, local community groups, non-governmental organisations, foundations, think tanks, etc.);
– Social enterprises;
– Corporations (public or private);
– Educational, research and policy institutions (public or private);
– Local/municipal, regional or federal/national branches or agencies of government.

Candidates must meet the following requirements:
– Candidates must be living. The Award cannot be given posthumously.
– Candidates for the 2023 Award must not have submitted an application consecutively in both of the last two Award cycles (2019 and 2021 Award).
– Candidates must not have previously received the Global Pluralism Award or an honourable mention.
– Candidates must not be an agency, employee or institutional project of any of the Centre’s founding partners, namely the Government of Canada and the Aga Khan Development Network. Partner or grantee organisations of the aforementioned, however, are eligible to apply.
– Candidates must not be members of the jury, the Centre’s Board or staff, a Centre’s Director Emeritus, former juror or a consultant receiving remuneration from the Centre at the time of nomination. Close relations and organisations owned or operated by members of the jury, the Centre’s Board members, Centre’s Director Emeriti, former jurors and staff are also ineligible.
– Candidates for the Award must not have been found guilty of committing violent crimes, terrorism or other criminal activities; or have publicly held extremist views.

Join as a member to get unlimited access


Already a Member? Log in

Subscribe to Social Change Central

No spam. It's a promise.

Password reset link will be sent to your email

Join as a member to get unlimited access