2018 United Nations Human Rights Prize

Date/Deadline: 27 Apr, 2018

The Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) is seeking nominations for the 2018 United Nations Prize in the Field of Human Rights. The prize will be awarded at an event at the United Nations Headquarters in New York on 10 December 2018, as part of the annual commemoration of the Human Rights Day.

The United Nations Prize in the Field of Human Rights is an honorary award given to individuals and organizations in recognition of outstanding contributions to the promotion and protection of the human rights and fundamental freedoms enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and in other instruments of the United Nations relating to human rights. The Prize was established by the General Assembly in 1966 (A/RES/21/2217) and was awarded for the first time on 10 December 1968, on the occasion of the celebration of the twentieth anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. The Prize has since been awarded in 1973, 1978, 1988, 1993, 1998, 2003, 2008 and 2013.

The Prize is an opportunity not only to give public recognition to the achievements of the recipients themselves, but also to send a clear message to human rights defenders the world over that the international community is grateful for, and supports, their tireless efforts to promote all human rights for all.

How are the winners of the Prize chosen?

– An important feature of the Prize is that nominations can be received from a broad variety of sources: –Member States, specialised agencies and non-governmental organizations in consultative status and from other appropriate sources.”
– Once nominations have been received by the UN Human Rights Office, a consolidated list is presented to a committee that selects the winners. The five members of this committee are: the President of the General Assembly; the President of the Economic and Social Council; the President of the Human Rights Council; the Chair of the Commission on the Status of Women; and the Chair of the Human Rights Council Advisory Committee.

No Comments

Post a Comment

Write a Comment

Become a Premium or Gold member to get access to this feature!

Password reset link will be sent to your email

Become a Premium or Gold member to get access to this feature!